top of page

Training days

Previously in this blog, you have read that I had good intentions but hardly began to put myself in good shape for the Balmhorn climb. Counting that I had only 2 months left before leaving, the motivation went up high again (basically because either I train, either I fail to climb…).


My first option was to increase the number of trainings in the gym (weights, fitness machines, step, etc.) and even exercise bike (after running, my 2nd worst nightmare…) and go hiking once a week. But it appeared that my Achilles heel would not agree. Meaning that swimming was the only cardio training left.

(Here, I must inform the reader that I used to be a teenage competition swimmer... yes, a long time ago... And since I moved to Barcelona I could not find a club to train properly and jumped into a swimming pool maybe twice in 11 years).


I dive into the water with a kind of apprehension: will I swim decently, will I stand more than a couple of laps?? Fortunately, it does not take me long to enjoy the ride! Good feelings come back from good old times!! How have I been able not to miss it? How can I possibly never leave it again? I don’t know what will bring me the Balmhorn experience, but it has already given me back a sport I loved so much so long ago. A treasure…

Then, the weekly rutine looks like that:

• 2 or 3 swimming sessions (thanks to Stefano who let me various program so that I don’t get bored swimming one way and the other)

• 2 fitness training

• 1 dance lesson (not really a training but if I am sweating it counts, right?)

• 1 hiking

• 1 day off (because I’m worth it!!!)

It should be a question of body chemistry because after only 10 days of training, I feel really well. The joy of swimming again, the pride of fulfilling the program. And adding distance week after week :-)

Obviously it is no guarantee that I will climb easily the Balmhorn. But it is better than nothing!

Thanks to my dear friend Mireia, I spent a full week end hiking in the beautiful mountains of Andorra. On Saturday we were a bit too ambitious and had to turn back after +1250m, 200m down to the summit of the Casamanya. But it was a good test as I felt I could have continued further. The Sunday walk was softer but absolutely stunning in the wonderful Vall de Madriu.


A couple of weeks later I have been able to check that the training is effective, since I could finish a long and beautiful hike in the Serra de Queralt with a unique panorama on Catalunya. An ascent of more than 1700m, which is close to what I expect for the Balmhorn, and a leg-breaking descent. I was happy to get a shower and put myself in bed that night!!


As a matter of fact, equipment will not be an excuse as I finally received the Gore-tex pack, courtesy of Haglöfs and Vertic. And it’s a thrill!!! Perfect pants, lightest-ever jacket and trendy down jacket. Boots are high quality and lovely but too large, don't know if they will be able to change them...

I don’t know if I am ready, but that’s it, I have done what I could to get prepared. Let it happen now…





Other Posts
bottom of page